Four More Counties Eligible For Infrastructure Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 2, 2004
Release Number: 

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Four more Ohio counties – Athens, Delaware, Holmes and Tuscarawas – have become eligible for federal disaster assistance to help rebuild flood-damaged public property, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

Aid for the counties was approved after a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster officials, said Lee Champagne, federal coordinating officer for the disaster recovery.

“This aid will help restore essential community services and facilities as quickly as possible to help Ohio achieve a full recovery,” Champagne said.

Local governments and certain private non-profit organizations in the designated counties can apply for the assistance. The federal cost share is 75 percent; the state cost share, which has usually been half of the non-federal share, or 12.5 percent, would reimburse communities for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and infrastructure repair.

Seventeen counties are now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance for damage suffered in the flooding that occurred between May 18 and June 21. The counties are Athens, Carroll, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Delaware, Guernsey, Harrison, Hocking, Holmes, Jefferson, Knox, Medina, Noble, Perry, Portage, Summit and Tuscarawas

The Ohio EMA coordinates State assistance and resources during an emergency and prepares the state for all hazards through planning, training, exercises and funding activities at the state and local level. This includes providing assistance to individuals and administering state and federal assistance to individuals and governmental entities recovering from disaster-related damage and costs. Ohio EMA coordinates homeland security funding, weapons of mass destruction training, anti-terrorism planning and training, and assists local and state agencies determine homeland strategies and priorities.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top