Five More Recovery Centers Will Open

Main Content
Release date: 
July 2, 2004
Release Number: 

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- To help individuals who suffered damage in Ohio’s spring flooding, disaster recovery centers will be opened in five new locations next week, it was announced today by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Ohio Emergency Management Agency (Ohio EMA).

The centers, staffed by state and federal disaster program representatives, are intended to meet the needs of individuals who have already registered for assistance under President Bush's disaster declaration and who may have further questions about their cases. People who had property damage can register by calling FEMA’s toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. seven days a week. (The lines will be closed Sunday for Independence Day.)

Residents of 21 Ohio counties may be eligible for federal assistance for damages suffered in the flooding between May 18 and June 21: Athens, Carroll, Columbiana, Crawford, Cuyahoga, Delaware, Geauga, Guernsey, Hocking, Lorain, Licking, Logan, Mahoning, Medina, Noble, Perry, Portage, Richland, Stark, Summit and Tuscarawas.

“No one has to visit these centers to register for government help, but people who suffered damage in the flooding can get valuable information and assistance if they need it,” said Dale W. Shipley, state coordinating officer for the disaster recovery and executive director of Ohio EMA.

The schedule for the centers opening next week:

July 6-7
Licking County
Johnstown Village Administration Building
599 South Main Street

July 6-7
Guernsey County
Cambridge Armory
1101 McFarland Drive

July 6-8
Mahoning County
County Southside
Annex Building
2801 Market Street

July 8-10
Delaware County
Hayes Admin. Building
140 N. Sandusky, Room G35

July 9-10
Stark County
Sandy Township Hall
8170 Waynesburg Road

The center hours will be 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. each day they are open.

Visitors to the centers can:

  • Receive information on disaster assistance programs
  • Receive information about low-interest U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loans and get help in completing disaster loan applications
  • Get referral information for other programs, such as Disaster Unemployment Assistance
  • Learn about cost-effective measures to reduce the impact of future disasters

The Ohio EMA coordinates State assistance and resources during an emergency and prepares the state for all hazards through planning, training, exercises and funding activities at the state and local level. This includes providing assistance to individuals and administering state and federal assistance to individuals and governmental entities recovering from disaster-related damage and costs. Ohio EMA coordinates homeland security funding, weapons of mass destruction training, anti-terrorism planning and training, and assists local and state agencies determine homeland strategies and priorities.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top