FEMA Expands Kentucky Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 2, 2004
Release Number: 

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Residents in four more counties are now eligible to apply for disaster recovery Individual Assistance (IA) programs from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Lincoln County has been added to the list of those eligible for Public Assistance (PA).

Homeowners, renters and businesses in Boyd, Carter, and Jackson counties, previously eligible for PA only, can now apply for IA. The IA Program helps individuals, households and businesses cope with uninsured disaster-related needs. In addition, the previously undeclared county of Greenup has now been added to the list of counties eligible for IA.

Homeowners, renters and businesses in any of the IA declared counties, who have had losses that are not covered by insurance, are urged to register with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY). Phone lines are open seven days a week from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (EDT and CDT) until further notice, except for July 4 closed to commemorate Independence Day.

The various state/FEMA aid programs for individuals and households include financial assistance to pay for temporary housing, emergency repairs or rebuilding, rental costs, and grants that cover serious other needs. Low-interest disaster loans are available from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for uninsured damages to homes, personal property and businesses.

  • TEMPORARY HOUSING -- Money to rent a temporary housing unit.
  • REPAIR -- Money for homeowners to repair disaster damage that is not covered by insurance. The goal is to make the damaged home safe, sanitary and functional.
  • OTHER NEEDS ASSISTANCE -- Money for necessary expenses and serious needs caused by the disaster. This includes medical, dental, funeral, personal property, transportation, and other expenses that FEMA approves.

Lincoln County, previously eligible for IA, is now eligible for PA programs, enabling its local government to seek reimbursement for approved disaster-related infrastructure repairs.

There are now 78 Kentucky counties designated as major disaster areas. Residents, homeowners and business owners in all 78 counties are eligible for IA. Of those 78, there are 39 counties eligible for PA.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top