Additional Wisconsin Counties Eligible To Receive Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 2, 2004
Release Number: 

MADISON, Wis. -- Disaster assistance has been made available to additional Wisconsin counties to help residents and local governments recover from the effects of recent severe storms, tornadoes and flooding, according to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Federal Coordinating Officer Ron Sherman said the following counties were added to the list of eligible jurisdictions for Individual Assistance to aid residents and business owners based on a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials: Adams, Brown, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Crawford, Dane, Eau Claire, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Juneau, LaCrosse, Lafayette, Marathon, Marquette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Outagamie, Portage, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Shawano, Sheboygan, Taylor, Trempealeau, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, Waupaca, Waushara and Wood Counties. Adams, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Marquette, and Monroe Counties have been added for Public Assistance to help local governments and certain qualifying non-profits.

The counties designated eligible on June 18 include Columbia, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Jefferson, Kenosha, Ozaukee and Winnebago for Individual Assistance, and Clark, Columbia, Crawford, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green Lake, Kenosha, Ozaukee, Vernon, and Winnebago for Public Assistance.

"We remain committed to ensuring that every qualified family and business receives the help they need and that vital community facilities are restored to full service as quickly as possible," Sherman said.

Residents and business owners are eligible to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush. The aid can include funding for temporary disaster housing assistance, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for individuals and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property and housing repair; replacement grants to help meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs; and disaster unemployment assistance.

Affected residents and business owners may apply for assistance immediately by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, until further notice. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585. The phone lines will be operating Monday, July 5th.

Callers are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

  • Your current phone number;
  • Your Social Security number, if available;
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered;
  • If insured, your insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name;
  • General financial information; and
  • Bank account code if you wish to speed up your assistance with direct deposit.

FEMA disaster assistance covers basic needs only and will not normally compensate you for your entire loss. If you have insurance, the government may help pay for basic needs not covered under your insurance policy. Residents should contact their insurance agent first, then call FEMA to apply in case you have any essential needs not met by your insurance policy. Some disaster aid does not have to be paid back, while other help may come in the form of loans. The FEMA representative will explain the details to you when you call.

In addition, for those counties eligible for Public Assistance, funding will be available to affected local governments and certain qualifying non-profit organizations to pay for the approve...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top