Main Content

Ten More Ohio Counties To Receive Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
June 29, 2004
Release Number: 

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Disaster assistance has been extended to 10 more Ohio counties to aid homeowners, renters and business owners affected by the flooding in May and June, the head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today. Residents in twenty-one counties are now eligible for disaster assistance.

The newly eligible counties are Carroll, Crawford, Delaware, Geauga, Guernsey, Licking, Logan, Richland, Tuscarawas and Stark. The counties were added after a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials, said Lee Champagne, federal coordinating officer for the recovery.

Previously designated counties are Athens, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Hocking, Lorain, Mahoning, Medina, Noble, Perry, Portage and Summit.

"We remain committed to ensuring that every qualified family and business receives the help they need as quickly as possible," Champagne said.

Eligible residents and business owners may register for assistance by calling the toll-free application numbers 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. The deadline to register is August 2.

Champagne said calling these numbers is the only way to apply for the available range of state and federal disaster assistance programs that can include funding for temporary disaster housing assistance; U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property and housing repair; replacement grants to help meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs; and disaster unemployment assistance.

"Individuals in these counties should call the application number and begin this process immediately if they have been affected by the flooding," said Dale W. Shipley, state coordinating officer and executive director of Ohio EMA.

Callers should have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

Your current phone number;
Your Social Security number, if available;
A general list of damages and losses you suffered;
If insured, your insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name;
General income information; and
Bank account code if you wish to speed up your assistance with direct deposit.

FEMA disaster assistance covers basic needs only and will not normally compensate you for your entire loss. If you have insurance, the government may help pay for basic needs not covered under your insurance policy. Residents should contact their insurance agents first, then call FEMA to apply. Some disaster aid does not have to be paid back, while other forms of help may come in the form of loans. The FEMA representative will explain the details to you when you call.

Disaster Assistance Program Information

FEMA administers a number of disaster assistance programs and coordinates the efforts of many other federal agencies that help people through the recovery process. The types of assistance available include:

INDIVIDUALS and HOUSEHOLDS PROGRAM: Housing assistance to individuals and families whose permanent homes were damaged or destroyed by flooding. Aid can include grants for temporary rental housing; essential repairs needed to make a residence safe, sanitary and functional; and money for serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other programs, such as medical, dental, funeral, personal property, transportation and other FEMA-approved expenses.

DISASTER UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE: Weekly benefits for individuals out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm owners and others not usually covered under regular unemplo...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: