FEMA Aid for Infrastructure Available in Four More Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
June 29, 2004
Release Number: 

DES MOINES, Iowa -- Federal assistance for repairing roads, bridges and other infrastructure damaged by recent severe storms, tornadoes and flooding is now available in Calhoun, Ida, Page and Sac counties. The Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HLSEM) said applicants for such aid, called Public Assistance, are typically units of state and local government and certain private non-profit organizations.

This addition to the May 25 Presidential disaster declaration raises the number of Iowa counties included from 65 to 66. Homeowners, renters and business owners in Calhoun, Page and Sac counties were already eligible for disaster assistance under the Individual Assistance program that includes grants for home repairs and short-term rentals, low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and grants for other disaster-related needs.

The Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division was known as the Iowa Emergency Management Division until July 2003. The current name reflects the dual nature of the Division to provide programs and resources for both homeland security and emergency management efforts.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top