Disaster Aid for Iowans Climbs above $9 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
June 29, 2004
Release Number: 

DES MOINES, Iowa -- Five weeks after the May 25 Presidential disaster declaration for Iowa, more than $9 million in grants and low-interest disaster loans has been approved for Iowans affected by recent severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding, according to figures released today by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HLSEM).

The following is an update of assistance provided through Individual Assistance programs, which are available in 62 counties:

  • 3,865 individuals have called FEMA's toll-free number to apply for assistance.
  • More than $3.9 million in Housing Assistance grants has been approved for Iowans. This includes rental assistance grants and home repair/replacement grants.
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has issued 3,184 loan applications to homeowners, renters, and business owners and approved $4.3 million in low-interest disaster loans.
  • More than $831,000 in Other Needs Assistance grants has been approved. This includes grants for medical, dental, funeral, personal property, transportation, and other eligible expenses.
  • Iowans have made 1,336 visits to Disaster Recovery Centers.

In 49 counties, aid mainly for emergency services, debris removal and repairing and rebuilding infrastructure is available through Public Assistance programs. Applicants for Public Assistance are governmental entities and, in some cases, eligible non-profit organizations. Six applicants' briefings have been held to start the process of delivering aid through Public Assistance programs.

The Presidential disaster declaration, which began May 25 with 14 counties, now includes 66. Counties where both Individual Assistance and Public Assistance are available are Adair, Allamakee, Audubon, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Calhoun, Cass, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Dallas, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Grundy, Guthrie, Hancock, Howard, Humboldt, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Linn, Marshall, Mitchell, Page, Pocahontas, Polk, Sac, Shelby, Story, Tama, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth and Wright.

Counties where only Individual Assistance is available are Adams, Buena Vista, Carroll, Cedar, Clinton, Greene, Hardin, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Madison, Mills, Montgomery, Palo Alto, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek and Warren.

Counties where only Public Assistance is available are Appanoose, Ida, Lucas and Taylor.

Iowans who suffered losses due to severe weather anytime since between May 19 and June 24 are encouraged to apply for assistance by using the FEMA toll-free registration number: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for those who are speech- or hearing-impaired. Recovery specialists are available to take calls from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday until further notice.

Those who have questions about the SBA loan application process or their individual loans may call 1-800-366-6303 between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Officials urge applicants to complete their loan paperwork as soon as possible. If the loan application is not returned, it could delay other forms of assistance, including possible grants.

Those who wish to discuss their applications for Other Needs Assistance may call 1-866-434-4692. The TTY number is 1-800-735-2942. The numbers are staffed from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division was known as the Iowa Emergency Management Division until July 2003. The current name reflects the dual nature of the Division to provide programs and resources for both homeland security and emergency mana...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top