Ohio Disaster Aid Tops $13 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
June 25, 2004
Release Number: 

COLUMBUS, Ohio -- Federal disaster assistance for Ohio has reached more than $13 million since the June 3 Presidential disaster declaration, according to figures issued today by the U. S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Ohio Emergency Management Agency (Ohio EMA).

To date, 28,659 people have registered for assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for those with speech or hearing impairment. Residents of the 11 counties included in the disaster declaration have until August 2 to register for aid. Counties eligible for state and federal assistance in the wake of the flooding between May 18 and June 21 are Athens, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Hocking, Lorain, Mahoning, Medina, Noble, Perry, Portage and Summit. The state has requested assistance for another 10 counties.

An update of recovery activities at the close of business Thursday, June 24:

  • 6,797 housing assistance grants totaling $8,408,211 have been approved.
  • 5,340 grants totaling $3,471,645 have been approved for other needs.
  • 79 low-interest disaster loans totaling $1,203,600 have been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).
  • FEMA has completed 26,679 inspections of claimants’ homes.

Disaster recovery officials urge anyone in the declared counties who suffered damages or loss from the flooding to apply for assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. Both lines are open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. every day until further notice.

Individual Assistance Program

Individuals and families whose permanent homes were damaged or destroyed by the recent flooding, and who are in a declared county, may be eligible for the Individual Assistance Program. This assistance can be used for temporary disaster housing assistance; repairing disaster-damaged, uninsured homes to a safe, sanitary and functional condition; and replacement grants for serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs.

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)

The SBA has issued 12,342 loan applications to homeowners, renters and business owners. Officials urge applicants to complete their loan paperwork as soon as possible, even if they have not received a final settlement from their insurance company. If the loan application is not returned it will delay or prevent receiving other forms of disaster assistance.

SBA offers loans up to $200,000 to repair disaster damaged primary residences. Homeowners and renters are eligible for loans up to $40,000 to replace personal property such as furniture and clothing. Loans to businesses of all sizes and non-profit organizations are available up to $1.5 million to repair damage to real estate, machinery and equipment, and inventory. Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) are also available to small businesses unable to pay bills or meet operating expenses.

The Ohio EMA coordinates State assistance and resources during an emergency and prepares the state for all hazards through planning, training, exercises and funding activities at the state and local level. This includes providing assistance to individuals and administering state and federal assistance to individuals and governmental entities recovering from disaster-related damage and costs. Ohio EMA coordinates homeland security funding, weapons of mass destruction training, anti-terrorism planning and training, and assists local and state agencies determine homeland strategies and priorities.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland ...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top