July 2 is Last Day to Apply for Disaster Unemployment in 14 Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
June 25, 2004
Release Number: 

DES MOINES, Iowa -- For 14 Iowa counties, Friday July 2 is the last day to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. The Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division (HLSEM) explained that the assistance is for people who are out of work due to severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that has occurred in Iowa since May 19.

The 14 Iowa counties where the Disaster Unemployment Assistance deadline is July 2 are those that were originally included in President Bush’s May 25 disaster declaration. They are Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cass, Cerro Gordo, Clayton, Delaware, Fayette, Hancock, Humboldt, Jones, Linn, Mitchell, and Pocahontas.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance extends coverage to some who are not eligible under the regular state unemployment insurance program. Those who may qualify include self-employed persons, farm workers and individuals who are unable to work due to injury caused by the disaster. Those whose workplace was or is closed because of the disaster may also be eligible. Officials urge those who are unsure whether they qualify to apply anyway.

Those interested in applying for Disaster Unemployment Assistance should contact their local Iowa Workforce Development Center. Most offices are open from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Applicants need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements and their most recent income tax returns.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance is administered by the State of Iowa and funded by FEMA.

The Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division was known as the Iowa Emergency Management Division until July 2003. The current name reflects the dual nature of the Division to provide programs and resources for both homeland security and emergency management efforts.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top