FEMA/State Open Disaster Recovery Centers In Disaster Areas

Main Content
Release date: 
June 23, 2004
Release Number: 

MADISON, Wis. -- State and federal disaster recovery officials announced that four Disaster Recovery Centers will open at several locations throughout the state on Thursday, June 24, at 10 a.m. and one Disaster Recovery Center will open in Jefferson on Friday, June 25, at 10 a.m. to serve victims of the severe storms and flooding that began May 19, 2004.

Disaster Recovery Centers opening on Thursday, June 24:

Fond du Lac
University of Wisconsin in the Large Group Instruction Room at 400 University Drive

Kenosha County Center, 19600 75th Street (at Highways 50 & 45)

South Park Middle School, 1551 Delaware Street

Hutchinson Memorial Library, Community Room Lower Level, 228 North High Street

Opening Friday, June 25:

City of Jefferson Police Dept. Community Room, 425 Collins Road

The Disaster Recovery Centers will be open 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday

People who have suffered damage to their home, apartment or business and live or work in Columbia, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Jefferson, Kenosha, Ozaukee or Winnebago county are urged to apply for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The special number for those with hearing or speech impairment is TTY 1-800-462-7585. Phone lines are open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily, until further notice.

Even if residents have already reported the damage to the county emergency manager, American Red Cross or other voluntary agencies, they must call the FEMA application number to apply for federal and state disaster assistance.

After individuals have applied by phone, they may visit a center to meet face-to-face with recovery specialists to ask any questions and receive more specific information on federal, state and voluntary agency recovery programs. Applicants may check on the status of their applications at the disaster recovery centers or they may call the FEMA Helpline at the same numbers listed above.

U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) staff will be available at the centers to assist victims with low-interest loan applications. Additional personnel at the centers can provide disaster housing information, technical assistance on how to reduce future disaster damages, and referrals to other federal and state assistance programs. Even those who did not experience damage during this weather event, can visit the centers to learn about cost-effective measures for reducing the risk of damage in future severe storms and flooding.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top