Disaster Assistance Is Just A Phone Call Away

Main Content
Release date: 
June 12, 2004
Release Number: 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- President Bush declared 37 counties in Missouri disaster areas as a result of damages received from tornadoes, severe storms and flooding between May 18 and May 31. This declaration clears the way for federal programs to assist those affected by these events in their recovery. The first step is to register for assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) (or TTY 1-800-462-7585) between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., CDT, seven days a week until further notice.

People living in any of the following counties, who were affected by the tornadoes, storms or flooding should call to register: Adair, Andrew, Bates, Benton, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Clay, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Hickory, Jackson, Johnson, Knox, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Mercer, Monroe, Nodaway, Platte, Polk, Randolph, Ray, Shelby, St. Clair, Sullivan, Vernon, and Worth Counties.

The phone call takes about 20 minutes. You will be asked general information about your income, insurance coverage and how badly your residence or business was damaged. Be prepared to give details about your housing needs, the location of the damaged property and a phone number where you can be reached. Have the following information available when you make the call:

  • Applicant’s full legal name and Social Security number.
  • Address and phone number in case we need to call you back.
  • Insurance coverage, policy number(s) and agent’s name.
  • Proof of residency.
  • Brief description of damages.

Provide social security number and personal information only when YOU call the number above.

You must also inform your insurance carrier of your losses and follow their procedures for filing a claim. Even if you have insurance, you should also register with FEMA. Disaster loan assistance may be available to help uninsured or underinsured losses or expenses. Grants may also be available for serious unmet needs.

Register by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) (or TTY 1-800-462-7585) between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., CDT, seven days a week until further notice.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top