Federal Disaster Aid Ordered For Louisiana Flood Recovery

Main Content
Release date: 
June 8, 2004
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Federal disaster aid was made available today to help meet the recovery needs of flood-stricken families and businesses in southern Louisiana, according to the head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Michael D. Brown, Under Secretary of Homeland Security for Emergency Preparedness and Response, said President Bush authorized the assistance under a major disaster declaration issued after a review of FEMA's analysis of the state's request for federal relief. The declaration covers damage to private property from severe storms and flooding that occurred over the period of May 12-19.

Following the President's action, Brown designated the parishes of Acadia, Iberville, Lafayette, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Landry, St. Martin and West Baton Rouge eligible for aid to affected residents and business owners.

The assistance, to be coordinated by FEMA, can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

In addition, Brown said the parishes are eligible to apply for federal funds on a cost-shared basis for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks. He indicated that more parishes and additional forms of assistance may be designated later if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Peter Martinasco of FEMA was named by Brown to coordinate the federal relief effort. Martinasco said affected residents and business owners in the designated parishes can begin the disaster application process tomorrow by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will be available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top