State Assistance A Phone Call Away For Storm Victims

Main Content
Release date: 
May 11, 2004
Release Number: 

SPRINGDALE, Ark. -- Arkansans in 18 counties with uninsured losses to their primary residences due to flooding and severe storms in April may be eligible for State disaster recovery services.

Counties declared disasters by Governor Mike Huckabee include: Baxter, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Newton, Randolph, Scott, Searcy, Stone, Washington, and Woodruff. Arkansas is one of few states with a Governor’s Disaster Fund, designed to help individuals when federal assistance is not available.

Temporary Housing Assistance Grants, for victims whose primary residences were destroyed or are uninhabitable as a result of the storms, are available through Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM). The program offers one month of assistance for pre-disaster renters and up to three months for pre-disaster homeowners. Applications for Temporary Housing Assistance Grants will be taken by ADEM at 1-877-828-3362, from 8 a.m. Tuesday, May 11, through 4 p.m. Monday, May 24. Calls will not be taken on weekends.

The Individual and Family Grant Program, (IFG) administered by Arkansas Department of Human Services (DHS), assists disaster victims with serious needs or necessary expenses that were incurred as a result of the disaster. Disaster victims may apply for the IFG Program by making an appointment by telephone with their county’s DHS office. The number for each DHS office can be obtained by calling ADEM. Applications will be taken from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, continuing through Monday, May 24. Calls will not be taken on weekends.

On May 7, 2004, President George W. Bush authorized a major disaster declaration that covers damage to public property in 13 counties from severe storms, flooding and landslides that began on April 19.

The following 13 counties are eligible for federal funding to pay state and affected local governments 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and the restoration of damaged public facilities: Baxter, Boone, Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Newton, Searcy, Stone, Washington and Woodruff.

Local government officials can learn about federal and state disaster recovery help during a series of briefings being conducted across the state. These meetings are to discuss assistance to local governments and certain private, non-profit organizations only. This is part of the federal recovery effort resulting from storms in April.
Assistance can include disaster aid in the form of reimbursement for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and costs to repair or replace roads, bridges and other public facilities damaged by the recent severe storms, flooding and landslides. Funding may be available to state agencies, local governments and certain nonprofit agencies providing government-like services.

Applicant briefings for local officials and representatives of nonprofit organizations will be held for the following counties:

Counties: Washington/Madison/Franklin
Date: Thursday – May 13, 2004 – 9:00 AM
Place: Washington County Courthouse
280 North College (Large Conference Room-5th Floor)
Fayetteville, AR

Counties: Johnson/Newton
Date: Thursday – May 13, 2004 - 2:00 PM
Place: EOC – County Courthouse
215 West Main
Clarksville, AR

Counties: Boone/Carroll/ Baxter/ Marion
Date: Friday – M...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top