FEMA Ok's More Than $500,000 to the City of Waltham

Main Content
Release date: 
April 2, 2004
Release Number: 

Portsmouth, N.H. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) said today it would reimburse the city of Waltham for costs incurred as a direct result of December's record snowfall.

Under President Bush's January emergency declaration for the December storm, communities in 12 of the Commonwealth's counties were designated for federal assistance, which will cover 75 percent of eligible emergency snow removal costs during a specific 48-hour period from December 6-7. Those counties are Barnstable, Berkshire, Bristol, Essex, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk, and Worcester.

Waltham will receive $500,000 for emergency protective measures required during the December storm.

"These funds represent our ongoing commitment to support state efforts to recover after an emergency," James N. Russo, Federal Coordinating Officer, said. "To date FEMA has obligated $12 million to 350 applicants in Massachusetts."

"We appreciate FEMA's efficient reimbursement of state costs incurred as a result of December's snow emergency," said Cristine McCombs, Director of Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency. These funds are authorized through FEMA's Public Assistance program with reimbursements administered by the state of Massachusetts.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top