Main Content

Additional County Designated for Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
March 19, 2004
Release Number: 

Portsmouth, N.H. -- New London County has been added to the list of counties to receive financial emergency assistance for snow removal costs incurred during the December record snowfall in Connecticut, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced.

Under Secretary Michael D. Brown, Department of Homeland Security, Emergency Preparedness and Response, said the additional assistance was approved based on a review by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

New London County joins six counties already eligible for snow removal funding for the record storm that occurred the weekend of Dec. 5-6: Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, New Haven, New London, Tolland, and Windham.

"A briefing for local officials from New London County will be conducted next week by FEMA and the State Office of Emergency Management to explain eligibility requirements and the reimbursement process," James N. Russo, Federal Coordinating Officer for the emergency, said. "Briefings for the other counties have already taken place."

Under President Bush's January 15 emergency declaration, FEMA provides reimbursement to state and local government agencies for 75 percent of the total eligible costs for snow removal from emergency routes and other primary roads for emergency vehicle use. Local officials can select the 48-hour period for snow removal expenditures to be used for determining the amount of financial assistance. Eligible expenditures can include, but are not limited to, equipment use and personnel overtime related to emergency services in dealing with the snow, de-icing, salting, and sanding operations.

Deadline for submission of expenses for the previously declared counties are as follows:

Fairfield - March 27 New Haven - March 28
Hartford - March 29 Tolland - March 26
Litchfield - March 27 Windham - March 26

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: