Residents Of 17 Villages May Register Tuesday At Disaster Recovery Center

Main Content
Release date: 
February 19, 2004
Release Number: 

PAGO PAGO, American Samoa -- All eligible residents of the 17 original villages, who suffered damages as a result of Cyclone Heta and did not register for disaster assistance earlier, will be able to come into the Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) on Monday, February 23 after 9:00 am to make an appointment to register beginning Tuesday.

The villages are as follows: Pago Pago, Nu’uuli, Tafuna, Utulei, Aua, Faga’alu, Fagatogo, Faganeanea, Matu’u, Fatumafuti, Afono,Vatia, Aasu, Afao,Agululu, Alao and the Malaeimi area. This is the second opportunity for these villages and citizens are encouraged to register at this time because there are only 30 days left until the March 20 registration deadline.

The center, located at the Governor Rex Lee Auditorium, is provided by the American Samoa Government (ASG) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The DRC is staffed with territorial and federal officials who are available to provide information and registration assistance to residents who may need help in recovering from their damages.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) also has representatives in the center to answer any questions and to provide one-on-one assistance in preparing applications for low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters and business owners. An SBA loan is the primary source of funds for the long-term repair or rebuilding for disaster damage to private property owned by businesses and individuals.

FEMA assistance will only cover essential repairs and some lost items, and is only available for those who suffered damage from Cyclone Heta. Individuals who are not U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals or qualified aliens are not eligible for federal grants.

Only one person can register on behalf of everyone living in a dwelling, which must be his or her primary residence. An applicant’s primary residence is the home where the applicant lives more than 6 months of the year, is listed as the address on their tax return and uses it as a voter registration address.

The representative for each household is asked to bring valid picture I.D, such as a drivers license or medical card, a social security number, an electric/utility bill and proof of the total annual income of the entire household, as evidenced by pay slips and a tax return. The family representative will be asked to identify their damaged dwelling on a map. It is essential that victims bring these documents and verify on their registration that all information, including spelling, is correct.

The center is open Monday through Saturday from 7:30 am to 5:00 pm and no cameras are allowed. The registration will take approximately 45 minutes.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top