Main Content

FEMA Disaster Registration Confusion Cleared Up

Release date: 
February 11, 2004
Release Number: 

PAGO PAGO, American Samoa -- The American Samoa Government (ASG) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) records show that there is confusion about the FEMA disaster registration process. As a result they have announced again the FEMA guidelines. These guidelines, which will be strictly enforced, are as follows:

  • You can only register for One house. The house you live in all the time.
  • Only the Head of Household can register. The Head of Household will register for the entire family.
  • Damage to the home must be from Cyclone Heta and must be Severe. Minor damages are the homeowner’s and /or landlord’s responsibility to repair and claims on these damages will not be paid by FEMA. FEMA assistance will only cover Severe damage that makes the home unlivable.
  • FEMA assistance is only to replace and repair Essential items that were damaged by Cyclone Heta.. A FEMA award can only be used for these essentials, not to purchase a new VCR or pick-up truck.
  • Please allow 5-7 days for the inspector to contact you.
  • If you claim for a house that you don’t live in, more than one house, or use the award for non-disaster related expenses, the FEMA Inspector General and/or the FBI may investigate and prosecute you for fraud.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: