Connecticut Requests for Public Assistance Due Feb.14

Main Content
Release date: 
February 9, 2004
Release Number: 

Portsmouth, N.H. -- Local officials in designated Connecticut counties have until Feb.14 to submit Requests for Public Assistance for reimbursement of snow removal costs incurred as a result of the Dec. 5-7, 2003, record snowfall, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials said today.

Under President Bush's Jan. 15 emergency declaration, communities in six Connecticut counties became eligible to apply for 75 percent funding of eligible emergency snow removal costs during a specified 48-hour period. The counties are Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, New Haven, Tolland, and Windham.

"Prospective applicants must submit their Requests to the Connecticut State Office of Policy and Management by the deadline to be considered for the FEMA funds," said James N. Russo, federal coordinating officer for the disaster. "The forms may be mailed, faxed, or sent electronically."

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top