Disaster Aid Tops $4.4 Million For Washington Residents

Main Content
Release date: 
January 8, 2004
Release Number: 

BOTHELL, Wash. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the Washington Division of Emergency Management (EMD) have announced that over $4.4 million has been distributed to individuals, families and businesses who suffered losses as a result of the floods between October 15 and 23.

Residents and businesses located in Chelan, Clallam, Grays Harbor, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Mason, Okanogan, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, Thurston and Whatcom counties who suffered damage from the October storms were eligible for aid. The deadline for individual assistance was Jan. 6, 2004. Proposals from governments and private nonprofit organizations are still being reviewed.

Recovery services summary as of 7:00 a.m., Thursday, January 8, 2004:

  • 1,389 registrations were received through the FEMA toll free registration number. The most heavily-impacted counties were: Skagit (with 482 registrations), Snohomish (with 252) and Mason (with 113).
  • $2,273,604 from the Individuals and Households Program was disbursed to the victims.
  • $2,160,200 in Small Business Administration (SBA) loans has been approved for homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes.
  • Free counseling services are still available to those impacted by the floods in Skagit, Snohomish and Whatcom Counties. For counseling, residents should call 360-416-7099.
  • Volunteer attorneys are providing free, disaster-related legal assistance to low-income individuals affected by the October 15-23 floods. The service, coordinated through the American Bar Association Young Lawyers Division and FEMA, is available by calling the Washington State Bar Association at 1-800-945-WSBA (9722).

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government's primary source of money for the long term rebuilding of disaster damaged private property. SBA helps homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private nonprofit organizations fund repairs or rebuilding efforts, and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover uninsured or uncompensated losses and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top