Monongalia County Declared Eligible For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
December 19, 2003
Release Number: 

CHARLESTON, W. Va. -- The Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has amended the West Virginia federal disaster declaration of November 21 to include Public Assistance for Monongalia County. The county is already eligible for Individual Assistance.

The designation means that Monongalia County may apply for federal assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance may also be provided to certain private non-profit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential government facilities.

“We are pleased that FEMA is adding Monongalia to the list of counties receiving funds to accomplish recovery from the devastating storms that began on November 11th,” said State Coordinating Officer Stephen S. Kappa of the West Virginia Office of Emergency Services.

When local governments receive Public Assistance, a briefing is held to provide information and explain the application process. State and federal officials are available at the briefings to provide information and answer questions about the Public Assistance program.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top