Main Content

Seven Disaster Recovery Centers No Longer Open On Sundays

Release date: 
December 11, 2003
Release Number: 

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- Federal and state officials announced today a change in the operating hours of the Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs). The centers are now operating Monday through Saturday and closed Sundays beginning December 14, 2003.

The seven DRC locations are: Rainelle in Greenbrier County, South Charleston in Kanawha County, Hamlin in Lincoln County, Fairmont in Marion County, Bluefield in Mercer County, Richwood in Nicholas County and Hinton in Summers County.

The new schedule does not apply to three mobile DRCs. They will be open Sunday as announced from 12 to 5 p.m. One in Calhoun County, another in Boone County and the third in McDowell County.

More than 1,000 persons have visited the DRCs where they received answers to their questions, updated their application, got help with their U.S. Small Business Administration loan application and information on repairing and rebuilding. Disaster Recovery Centers will remain in service as long as the need exists.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: