Main Content

Two Weeks Remain to Apply For Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA)

Release date: 
December 3, 2003
Release Number: 

EVERETT, Wash. -- Applications for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) will be accepted through Dec. 18, 2003. Individuals who are out of work as a direct result of the severe storms October 15 – 23, 2003, may be eligible for weekly benefit payments under the DUA program.

“The DUA program extends coverage to people who are not eligible for unemployment compensation under the regular state unemployment insurance program,” said Diane R. Offord, the state official in charge of disaster recovery. “Self-employed persons, farm workers, loggers, farm and ranch owners, commission-paid employees and others may be eligible under the DUA program.”

Applications for DUA can be obtained in the following ways:

Anthony Russell, the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) chief disaster recovery official, said, “Callers can request that an application be mailed or faxed to them. Applicants will need a social security number. Self-employed applicants should also be prepared to provide information about earnings from their previous federal tax year.”

This program is available to workers in the disaster declared areas of Chelan, Clallam, Grays Harbor, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Mason, Okanogan, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, Thurston, and Whatcom Counties.

The DUA program is funded by FEMA and administered by the Washington State Department of Employment Security.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: