Infrastructure Disaster Assistance Deadline Is Less Than Three Weeks Away

Main Content
Release date: 
December 1, 2003
Release Number: 

EVERETT, Wash. -- With President Bush's November 20th announcement that seven Washington counties are eligible to apply for federal and state disaster assistance in the wake of the October 15-23, 2003 severe storms and flooding, local governments and certain non-profit organizations have until December 19th to make application for such assistance.

Governmental entities in Clallam, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Mason, Skagit, Snohomish and Whatcom Counties may apply for help with eligible costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities.

"We encourage organizations seeking federal reimbursement for costs incurred due to the disaster to file the necessary Request for Public Assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency, (FEMA)," said Diane R. Offord, the state official in charge of long-term disaster recovery. "To obtain additional information regarding the application process, local government agencies and eligible non-profit organizations should contact their local emergency management agency."

Under FEMA's Public Assistance program, local governments and certain non-profit organizations are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay up to 75 percent of approved costs.

Anthony Russell, federal coordinating officer for disaster recovery, said, "Our continuing commitment is not only to help the recovery needs of devastated families and businesses, but to ensure that the vital community services they depend on are restored as quickly and efficiently as possible. Ensuring that those services are restored is part of our commitment to help Washington achieve a full and lasting recovery."

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top