Main Content

Four Disaster Recovery Centers to Close Saturday, But Help Still Available

Main Content
Release date: 
September 25, 2003
Release Number: 

Indianapolis - Four Disaster Recovery Centers will close Saturday, September 27. Disaster Recovery Centers in Avon, Indianapolis, Muncie and Martinsville will close at 6:30 p.m. The center in Lawrence at the Lawrence Government Center, 9001 East 59th St., will continue to operate Monday through Saturday, 9:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m., until further notice.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will open three Workshops on Monday, September 29, to provide assistance with low-interest loan applications for homeowners, renters, and business owners affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred August 26 through September 15.

If you received an SBA loan application it is very important to complete and return it as soon as possible, even if you have not received a final settlement from the insurance company. If the loan application is not returned it will delay other forms of disaster assistance.

Two SBA Workshops will open at locations previously housing the Disaster Recovery Centers: Morgan County Emergency Management Agency Office, 1789 East Morgan St. in Martinsville; and, Delaware County EMS Building, 4501 E. Memorial Dr. in Muncie. A Workshop will also open in Avon at a location to be announced. The SBA Workshops will be open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday, until further notice.

Those who suffered damages or loss from the tornadoes, flooding and severe storms that occurred August 26 through September 15 can still apply for assistance by calling the FEMA toll-free application number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with speech or hearing impairment can call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Both lines are open 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday thru Saturday. The deadline to call and apply for disaster assistance is 5 p.m. on November 4.

Although these Disaster Recovery Centers are closing, FEMA officials noted that assistance is still only a toll-free call away. Applicants may call those same toll-free numbers to check on the status of their claim, update application information, and to receive information about other federal disaster assistance programs.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top