Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster For Delaware To Aid Hurricane Recovery

Release date: 
September 20, 2003
Release Number: 

» Federal Aid For Delaware Hurricane Recovery

Washington, DC -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that President Bush has declared a major disaster for Delaware, opening the way for the use of federal disaster funds and emergency resources to help families and businesses recover from the effects of Hurricane Isabel.

Michael D. Brown, FEMA Director and Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response at Homeland Security, said the President took the action immediately after receiving FEMA's analysis of the state's request for federal relief. The declaration covers damage to private property from Isabel beginning on September 18.

"President Bush acted quickly in ordering federal assistance for the people of Delaware because he recognizes that they have suffered sizeable losses as a result of this storm," Brown said. "The Department of Homeland Security and FEMA are committed to doing all we can as fast as we can to help them return to their normal way of living."

Immediately after the declaration, Brown designated the counties of Kent, New Castle and Sussex eligible for aid to stricken residents that can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

In addition, Brown said federal funds will be provided for the state and affected local governments to pay 75 percent of the eligible cost for debris removal and emergency services related to the hurricane, including requested emergency work undertaken by the federal government.

Brown indicated that damage surveys are continuing and additional forms of assistance for state and local government agencies may be designated later based on the results of the assessments.

Michael J. Hall of FEMA was named by Brown to coordinate the federal relief effort. Hall said affected residents and business owners in the designated counties can begin the disaster application process by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will be available starting Sunday, September 21, from 7 a.m. to midnight seven days a week until further notice.

Because of the anticipated high volume of initial calls, Hall urged owners of commercial properties and residents with only minor losses to wait a few days before calling so those whose homes were destroyed or heavily damaged can be served first. He also advised that hurricane victims with insurance coverage should contact their insurance company or agent before calling to report losses and, if necessary, to request an advance or partial payment of their settlement.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizens Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
March 29, 2016 - 20:05
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: