Main Content

Nearly $16.5 Million In Disaster Aid Approved Thus Far For Shelby And Fayette County Residents; More Than 29,000 Have Applied For Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
September 12, 2003
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN - A total of $16,461,493 in federal and state disaster aid has been approved thus far for Fayette and Shelby County residents who were affected by the July 21-22 severe storms, high winds and heavy rain. President Bush, at the request of Gov. Phil Bredesen, made the disaster declaration on July 29, 2003.

Of the nearly $16.5 million, 29,270 Shelby County residents have applied for and received $16,409,733 in disaster aid, while 126 Fayette County residents have received $51,760 in aid.

The following is a breakdown of the nearly $16.5 million in federal and state disaster aid approved for both Fayette and Shelby counties:

  • Individuals & Households Program (IHP) - $11,508,893
    FEMA's IHP may provide housing assistance in the form of temporary housing or housing repair assistance to repair disaster-related damage not covered by insurance. Assistance may also be provided to cover uninsured or underinsured disaster-related expenses and serious needs, such as medical and dental expenses, funeral and/or other burial services, transportation, clean-up equipment, moving and storage expenses, room furnishings and appliances, and other serious needs.
  • U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) - $4,952,600
    The U.S. Small Business Administration provides low-interest disaster loans to homeowners, renters and businesses for repairing or replacing uninsured or underinsured disaster-damaged property. Businesses may also be eligible for disaster loans to repair or replace machinery, equipment, fixtures, inventory and leasehold improvements not covered by insurance, as well as for working capital to assist them during the disaster recovery period.

Only two weeks remain to apply for federal and state disaster assistance. Anyone who suffered severe storm, high wind or heavy rain damage during the July 21-22 severe weather should call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) as soon as possible to apply for assistance. The speech or hearing impaired should call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top