Main Content

Memphis Disaster Recovery Center To Close September 12; Reopens As SBA Workshop September 15

Main Content
Release date: 
September 9, 2003
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- The last remaining Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) established by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA) is scheduled to close on Friday, September 12. The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will open a workshop at the same location on Monday, September 15.

The DRC, which is located at the Fairground, 315 S. Hollywood Street, Memphis, was opened on August 4th to assist Fayette and Shelby County residents and business owners who suffered losses or damage in the July 21-22 severe storms, high winds and flooding. The hours of operation for the final week are 10 a.m. to 7 pm. through Friday.

"The Disaster Recovery Center provides an opportunity to learn more about the full range of federal and state assistance programs and to check on the status of an application," said TEMA Director James H. Bassham. "Those who have not yet applied for disaster assistance may still apply by calling before the September 29th application deadline. The toll-free numbers are 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing- or speech-impaired," he said.

On Monday, September 15, the SBA will open a workshop at the same location to help renters, homeowners and business owners who are applying for disaster loans. The workshop will be open Monday through Friday with hours to be determined.

SBA also has workshops at the Whitehaven Community Center and the Gaisman Community Center in Memphis. Hours of operation are 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday until further notice.

"Nearly 2700 people have already visited Disaster Recovery Centers or SBA workshops for help. Don't hesitate to come in and meet face-to-face with people who can answer your questions," said Federal Coordinating Officer Charles M. Butler.

FEMA personnel will remain at each of the three SBA workshops until September 26 to assist those who have questions about their applications for disaster assistance. Help is also available by calling the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech impaired.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top