Main Content

Two Florida Counties Added For Aid To Local Governments

Main Content
Release date: 
September 3, 2003
Release Number: 

Washington, D.C. -- Federal disaster funds have been made available for the Florida counties of Dixie and Taylor to help cover part of the response costs for the flooding that began in June, according to the head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Michael D. Brown, FEMA Director and Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response at Homeland Security, said the counties were designated for the assistance following a review of data gathered by federal and state recovery officials.

Brown said the designation allows affected local governments in Dixie and Taylor counties to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the eligible costs for emergency protective measures undertaken as a result of the flooding.

The funds were authorized under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on July 29 and made available through FEMA's Public Assistance program for state and local governments.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizens Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top