Main Content

Only One Week Left To Apply For Disaster Assistance To Aid Recovery From July Storms

Main Content
Release date: 
September 2, 2003
Release Number: 

Kokomo, IN - Just one week remains for individuals and business owners in the 43 Indiana counties designated for individual assistance to call and apply for state and federal aid to replace losses from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred July 4 through August 6. The deadline to call and apply for disaster assistance is Tuesday, September 9.

"This is our final effort to reach out to any disaster victims from the July storms who still haven't applied," Patrick R. Ralston, Indiana State Emergency Management Agency state coordinating officer, said.

Individuals and business owners in the eligible counties who sustained losses but still have not applied for assistance should do so by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free application number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). There is also a special number for those with hearing or speech impairment, TTY 1-800-462-7585. Both numbers are operational 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday.

"We don't want anyone to miss out on the assistance they are entitled to," Thomas J. Costello, FEMA's federal coordinating officer, said. "If you suffered damages as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that swept across Indiana between July 4 and August 6, please call and apply."

September 9 is the deadline to apply for assistance for those in the disaster-designated counties of Adams, Allen, Benton, Blackford, Boone, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Delaware, Fountain, Fulton, Grant, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry, Howard, Huntington, Jasper, Jay, Kosciusko, Lake, Madison, Marion, Miami, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Parke, Porter, Pulaski, Randolph, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Vigo, Vanderburgh, Wabash, Warren, Wayne, Wells, White and Whitley.

People who have already applied may call the FEMA Helpline at the same numbers, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for those with speech or hearing impairment, even after the deadline, to check on the status of their application and get additional information. Both numbers are available 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday, until further notice.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: