Main Content

More Than $9.5 Million In Disaster Aid Approved Thus Far For Shelby And Fayette County Residents;

Main Content
Release date: 
August 29, 2003
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- A total of $9,557,433 in federal and state disaster aid has been approved thus far for Fayette and Shelby County residents who were affected by the July 21st and 22nd, 2003 severe storms, high winds and heavy rain. President Bush, at the request of Gov. Phil Bredesen, made the disaster declaration on July 29.

Of the $9.5 million, 5,677 Shelby County residents have received $6,682,052 in disaster aid, while 30 Fayette County residents have received $40,781 in aid.

The following is a breakdown of the more than $9.5 million in federal and state disaster aid approved for both Fayette and Shelby counties:

  • Individuals & Households Program (IHP) - $6,722,833

    FEMA's IHP may provide housing assistance in the form of temporary housing or housing repair assistance to repair disaster-related damage not covered by insurance. Assistance may also be provided to cover uninsured or underinsured disaster-related expenses and serious needs, such as medical and dental expenses, funeral and/or other burial services, transportation, clean-up equipment, moving and storage expenses, room furnishings and appliances, and other serious needs.

  • U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) - $2,834,600

    The U.S. Small Business Administration provides low-interest disaster loans to homeowners, renters and businesses for restoring or replacing uninsured or underinsured damage-related property. Businesses may also be eligible for disaster loans to repair or replace inventory, machinery and equipment not covered by insurance, as well as for working capital to assist them during the disaster recovery period.

Only one month remains to apply for federal and state disaster assistance. Anyone who suffered storm, high wind or heavy rain damage during the July 21st - 22nd severe weather should call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) as soon as possible to apply for assistance. The speech or hearing impaired should call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: