Main Content

Aid Tops $20 Million One Month

Main Content
Release date: 
August 29, 2003
Release Number: 

Akron, Ohio - In the first month since federal assistance was authorized for flood losses in northeast Ohio, $20.5 million has been approved to help residents and businesses recover from the summer flooding, federal and state disaster officials announced today.

The following assistance has been approved for those eligible in Carroll, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Franklin, Jefferson, Mahoning, Medina, Monroe, Portage, Stark, Summit, and Trumbull counties:

A total of $20,465,384 has been approved for grants and low-interest loans. This total includes the following assistance:

  • $13,733.069 in disaster housing assistance has been approved.
  • $4,688,215 from the Individuals and Households Program has been approved to cover necessary and emergency needs not covered by insurance or other assistance programs.
  • $2,044,100 in low-interest disaster loans has been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration to help
  • 14,999 individuals have called FEMA's toll free number to register for assistance.
  • 11,861 home inspections were completed as of August 27.
  • 1533 people have visited the disaster recovery centers located in Summit, Mahoning, Columbiana, Stark, Trumbull, Cuyahoga, Carroll, and Portage counties.
  • Another center is scheduled to open on September 2 in Franklin County.

"We know federal aid cannot compensate people for all their disaster losses," said Federal Coordinating Officer Ron Sherman. "But the combination of grants and loans is intended to get them started on the path to recovery."

Individuals and businesses who may be eligible for disaster assistance should call FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired. The lines will be closed over the three-day Labor Day weekend but will reopen on Tuesday, September 2 and will take calls from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, through September 30.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: