Main Content

Federal/State Disaster Recovery Center In Warren To Transition To SBA Workshop

Main Content
Release date: 
August 25, 2003
Release Number: 

Cridersville, OH -The Disaster Recovery Center in Warren will close on Friday, August 29 and remain closed for the three-day Labor Day weekend, county, state and federal disaster officials announced today.

When the center reopens on Tuesday, September 2, it will operate as a workshop for the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

"The Disaster Recovery Center in Warren will operate until 6 p.m. on Friday, August 29," said State Coordinating Officer Dale Shipley. "When the center reopens on Tuesday, September 2, it will serve primarily as a resource and information workshop for people applying for SBA low-interest disaster loans. The SBA workshop will be open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday."

"Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) staff will be available at the workshop to answer general questions about federal disaster assistance programs," said Federal Coordinating Officer Ron Sherman."

"For those who have not yet registered, FEMA assistance remains just a telephone call away," said Ron Sherman, federal coordinating officer. "People who want to register for disaster assistance need only call FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired."

The center, which is open 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., is located in Trumbull County at the following location:

Community Center
418 Main Street
Warren, Ohio

"People who have already registered for assistance can call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to check the status of their applications or ask questions, including the location of disaster centers in nearby counties," Sherman said.

U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the Ohio Emergency Management Agency and the SBA operate the Disaster Recovery Centers.

Disaster assistance programs include housing assistance, grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs, and low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters, landlords and businesses. Disaster unemployment assistance, tax assistance and other special services are also available to eligible persons affected by the disaster.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top