Deadline Nears For Shelby County Disaster Unemployment Claims; Fayette County Deadline One Week Later

Main Content
Release date: 
August 20, 2003
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN - The deadline for workers in Shelby and Fayette counties, who were affected by the July 21st - 22nd severe storms, high winds and heavy rain, to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is fast approaching, federal and state disaster recovery officials said today.

Shelby County workers have through August 29th to apply for DUA while Fayette County workers have through September 8th to apply.

Individuals who are not eligible for unemployment benefits under the regular unemployment program may be eligible under the disaster unemployment program. For example, self-employed and others not covered by regular state unemployment insurance programs may apply for this federally funded assistance.

Applicants should take their Social Security number with them when visiting the nearest Labor and Workforce Development office.

The DUA benefit period begins with the week following the disaster incident or date thereafter that the individual became unemployed and it can extend up to 26 weeks after the date of declaration or until the individual becomes re-employed, whichever is earlier. The DUA benefit amount may not exceed the maximum weekly amount authorized under the unemployment compensation law of the State of Tennessee.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top