Federal/State Disaster Recovery Center In Canton To Modify Operations August 20

Main Content
Release date: 
August 19, 2003
Release Number: 

Cridersville, OH -- The Disaster Recovery Center in Canton will transition to a workshop for the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) at the close of business on Wednesday, August 20, disaster recovery officials announced today.

"The Disaster Recovery Center in Canton will operate through 6 p.m. on Wednesday, August 20," said Richard Roman, deputy state coordinating officer. "When the center reopens on Thursday, August 21, it will serve primarily as a resource and information workshop for people applying for SBA low-interest disaster loans." The office will be open Thursday and Friday, August 21 and 22, and will reopen Monday, August 25 through close of business on Friday, August 29. The hours will remain 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

A small FEMA staff will remain at the center to answer general questions about federal disaster assistance programs until the SBA workshop closes on Friday, August 29.

U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the Ohio Emergency Management Agency and the SBA operate the Disaster Recovery Centers.

"Even after the Canton center closes, FEMA will continue to be just a telephone call away," said Ron Sherman, federal coordinating officer. "People who want to register for disaster assistance need only call FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired."

The center, which is open 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., is located in Stark County:

Disaster Recovery Center
221 Third Street S.E.
Canton, Ohio

"People who have already registered for assistance can call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to check the status of their applications or ask questions, including the location of disaster centers in nearby counties," Sherman said.

Disaster assistance programs include housing assistance, grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs, and low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters, landlords and businesses. Disaster unemployment assistance, tax assistance and other special services are also available to eligible persons affected by the disaster.
On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top