Four Additional Indiana Counties Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
August 12, 2003
Release Number: 

Kokomo, IN -- Fountain, Greene, Wabash and White counties have been declared eligible for disaster assistance to help local governments impacted by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred between July 4 and August 6, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The assistance was approved following a review of data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. These four join 18 other Indiana counties in which affected local governments are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Fountain, Wabash and White Counties were previously designated eligible for Individual Assistance and Greene County is designated for only Public Assistance. The other 18 counties previously designated eligible for Public Assistance include Adams, Allen, Carroll, Cass, Clay, Howard, Huntington, Jasper, Jay, Kosciusko, Miami, Newton, Parke, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Union, Warren and Wells.

Procedures for requesting the infrastructure assistance have already been explained at a series of applicant briefings for local officials and representatives of certain private non-profit organizations.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top