Main Content

FEMA And Ohio EMA Open Disaster Recovery Centers In Warren And Valley View On Tuesday, August 12

Release date: 
August 9, 2003
Release Number: 

Cridersville, OH -- Disaster Recovery Centers will open in Trumbull and Cuyahoga counties on Tuesday, August 12, 2003 to assist residents of counties affected by the July 21 flooding with their applications for federal and state disaster assistance.

The centers in Warren and Valley View will be operated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Ohio Emergency Management Agency.

At the centers, applicants can talk one-on-one with specialists in housing assistance programs, get help in applying for U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters and businesses, obtain information about insurance, and receive advice from mitigation experts on steps to take to protect their property from future disasters.

Centers will open at the following locations at 10 a.m., Tuesday, August 12:

418 Main Street
Warren, Trumbull County


Cuyahoga County Sanitary Engineer Building
6100 West Canal Road
Valley View, Cuyahoga County
Ohio 44125

Hours: August 12-6, Tuesday to Saturday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Thereafter, Monday to Saturday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Disaster-affected residents of Carroll, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Mahoning, Medina, Portage, Summit, Stark and Trumbull counties should register first by calling the toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY: 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing impaired. The line is open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week, until further notice.

"We urge anyone who suffered damages or losses in the flooding to register with FEMA as soon as possible," said Federal Coordinating Officer Ron Sherman.

"Federal aid cannot compensate people for all their disaster losses," Sherman added. "But the combination of grants and loans is intended to get them started on the path to recovery."

Applicants should have the following information available if possible when they call:

  • Social Security number
  • Damage and losses they have suffered
  • The name of their insurance company and their policy number
  • Bank account coding if they wish to speed up assistance through direct deposit.

Applicants who need further information or assistance with completing their SBA applications are encouraged to visit the most convenient disaster recovery center. Centers are also located in Hanoverton, Canton, Akron and Youngstown, Ohio.

Housing assistance is available for eligible residents whose permanent homes were damaged or destroyed by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding beginning July 21, 2003. Grants are available for temporary rental housing, for essential repairs to make a residence livable, and for serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other programs.

SBA low-interest disaster loans may be available to homeowners, renters and businesses to restore or replace underinsured or uninsured disaster-damaged real and personal property in declared counties. Loans may also be offered to small businesses only in declared and contiguous counties for working capital to assist them during the disaster recovery period.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance is available for those who are out of work as a result of the disaster including self-employed persons, farm owners, and others not covered by regular unemployment benefits.

Tax assis...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: