FEMA And State Schedule Briefings For Local Officials On Infrastructure Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
August 4, 2003
Release Number: 

Kokomo, IN -- Briefings for local officials to explain the process of applying for federal disaster assistance have been scheduled for this week at three locations, federal and state disaster recovery officials announced today. Eighteen Indiana counties are eligible to receive assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration and replacement of public facilities damaged in the wake of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began July 4.

Briefing location:

Wed. Aug. 6, 10 a.m.
Allen County Memorial Coliseum
4000 Parnell Ave.
Fort Wayne
Thurs. Aug. 7 , 10 a.m.
North Central IN Law Enforcement Training Council, Inc.
Grissom Aeroplex
1202 N. Hoosier Blvd.
Fri. Aug. 8, 10 a.m.
Rockville National Guard Armory
Strawberry Road

The Fort Wayne briefing will include local officials from Allen, Adams, Huntington, Jay and Wells counties. The Peru briefing will include local officials from Miami, Cass, Howard, Kosciusko and Tipton counties. The Rockville briefing will include local officials from Parke, Clay and Warren counties. Additional briefings are yet to be scheduled for officials in Carroll, Jasper, Newton, Tippecanoe and Union counties.

"These briefings are designed to help local officials understand eligibility requirements and the reimbursement process," Patrick R. Ralston, Indiana State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) state coordinating officer, said. "We have a responsibility to ensure that federal, state, and local dollars are used appropriately."

Affected local governments are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore and replace facilities owned by certain private non-profit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential governmental service facilities.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top