Additional FEMA/SEMA Disaster Recovery Centers To Open

Main Content
Release date: 
July 31, 2003
Release Number: 

Kokomo, IN -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Indiana State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) are opening temporary Disaster Recovery Centers in additional locations to bring information to individuals who may have questions after they have applied for disaster assistance.To apply for assistance, residents in the disaster-declared counties should call 1 800 621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number for those with hearing or speech impairment is 1 800 462-7585.

These information centers will be operating 9:30 a.m. to 6:30 pm., at the following locations and dates:


Fri., Sat. & Mon. (Aug. 1, 2 & 4)
Rosedale Town Hall
52 West Middle Street


Fri., Sat., & Mon. (Aug. 1, 2 & 4)
Cass County EMA
1227 North SR 17


Fri. Aug. 1
6260 West McGalliard
Sat. Aug. 2
Yorktown Fire Dept.
8905 West Smith
Mon. Aug. 4
Southway Plaza
3709 South Madison

Disaster recovery specialists will be on hand to answer questions and Small Business Administration (SBA) loan representatives will be available at the center to assist victims with low-interest loan applications.Personnel at the centers can also provide disaster housing information, technical assistance on how to reduce future disaster damages, and referrals to local voluntary agencies and other assistance programs.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top