Five Indiana Counties Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 30, 2003
Release Number: 

Kokomo, IN -- Cass, Clay, Jay, Tipton and Union counties have been declared eligible for disaster assistance to help local governments impacted by July's severe storms, tornadoes and flooding, according to Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Thomas J. Costello, federal coordinating officer.

Costello said the assistance was approved following a review of data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Affected local governments in these counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings for local officials at a location to be announced shortly by state and federal disaster officials.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top