Disaster Recovery Center Moving

Main Content
Release date: 
July 30, 2003
Release Number: 

Corpus Christi, TX -- The Disaster Recovery Center in Bay City is closing at 6 p.m. on Friday, August 1 and reopening in Palacios on Sunday, August 3 at 1 p.m. The new location will stay open until further notice.

Disaster Recovery Centers provide detailed program information to those who have already called 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) and applied for assistance under President Bush's July 17 disaster declaration.

The new center will be located at:
Eagle Hall
204 4th Street
Palacios, Texas 77465
Hours of operation will be:
9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Saturday
1 p.m. to 6 p.m. Sunday

"We're moving the Disaster Recovery Center to Palacios to better serve the people of Matagorda County," said State Coordinating Officer Dell Greer.

Representatives from FEMA, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and state agencies will be on hand to answer disaster assistance questions. Those who haven't already registered may do so by calling FEMA's registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing-impaired. The registration line is open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week. Spanish speaking operators are available.

Carlos Mitchell, federal coordinating officer said, "The people who work in Disaster Recovery Centers are there to answer your questions."

The counties currently included in the disaster declaration for both Individual Assistance and Public Assistance are: Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, DeWitt, Frio, Galveston, Goliad, Jackson, Karnes, Live Oak, Matagorda, Refugio, Victoria and San Patricio. The counties currently eligible for Public Assistance only are Atascosa and McMullen.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top