Deadline Nears To Apply For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 30, 2003
Release Number: 

Frankfort, KY -- Victims of the May 4-27 Kentucky storms who have not yet registered for federal disaster assistance have until August 4, 2003, to file applications for most disaster assistance programs, according to federal and state disaster recovery officials.

Homeowners, renters and business owners who sustained damage from severe storms, flooding, mud- and rockslides and tornadoes from May 2 to May 27 are encouraged to apply by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free number, (800) 621-FEMA (3362). Those with hearing or speech impairments can register by calling TTY (800) 462-7585.

Residents in the following counties are eligible for disaster assistance in recovering from the May 4-27 storms: Anderson, Boyd, Breckinridge, Boyle, Bullitt, Caldwell, Carter, Crittenden, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Garrard, Graves, Grayson, Greenup, Hardin, Hart, Henderson, Hopkins, Jefferson, Jessamine, Larue, Lewis, Lawrence, Madison, McLean, Meade, Mercer, Nelson, Owsley, Perry, Rowan, Union, Washington, Webster and Woodford.

Applicants may qualify for assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster-related needs, or U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters and business owners.

"Even after the deadline, if you have questions about your application, FEMA will still be a telephone call away," said Mike Butler, the federal coordinating officer for the recovery effort.

On March 1, 2003 FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top