Ohio Disaster Recovery Update

Main Content
Release date: 
July 29, 2003
Release Number: 

Cridersville, OH -- State of Ohio and U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) disaster assistance in western Ohio has reached nearly $700,000, federal and state disaster recovery officials said today.

More than 423 residents of the six western Ohio counties under President Bush's July 15 disaster declaration have registered for disaster assistance in the two weeks since the declaration. Auglaize, Darke, Shelby, Van Wert, Mercer and Logan counties were covered under the declaration.

"Our goal is to help as many Ohio households and businesses as possible to recover from their damages from the disaster," said Federal Coordinating Officer Ron Sherman of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

"We encourage those in the western Ohio counties who suffered property damage from the floods to register for disaster assistance," Deputy State Coordinating Officer Richard Roman of the Ohio Emergency Management Agency said. Households and businesses may register by calling FEMA's toll-free registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

Aid has begun reaching Ohio residents. More than 144 people have visited Disaster Recovery Centers in Celina and Lewistown or sought help from Disaster Recovery Teams in Greenville, Wapakoneta, and Sidney.

  • Disaster housing checks totaling more than $514,890 have been issued to 239 households to assist with temporary housing and minor home repairs.

  • State officials are processing more than 73 requests for Other Needs Assistance (ONA). Grants totaling $183,689 have been approved. ONA may be used to cover disaster-related expenses such as replacement of personal property, transportation, and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs.

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance is available through the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services for those who lost income because of the disaster, including farmers, farm workers, and other self-employed individuals.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top