Main Content

Disaster Housing Assistance Approaches $4 Million Dollar Mark

Main Content
Release date: 
July 28, 2003
Release Number: 

Corpus Christi - Less than two weeks after the federal disaster declaration by President George W. Bush on July 17, more than $3.7 million in disaster housing assistance has been approved for those in the nine declared counties (Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, Galveston, Goliad, Jackson, Matagorda, Refugio and Victoria) affected by Hurricane Claudette. To date, more than 6,700 applications for assistance have been received from individuals who suffered disaster losses.

The Disaster Housing Program includes assistance for basic housing repairs, short-term rental assistance or reimbursement of hotel/motel expenses.

Carlos Mitchell, federal coordinating officer, said, "We urge everyone who has suffered losses in the declared counties to register for assistance."

State Coordinating Officer Dell Greer added, "Individuals need to make that one toll-free phone call. That's all it takes to register for disaster assistance. The registration process only takes about 20 to 30 minutes."

The FEMA toll-free registration number is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The number for the hearing or speech impaired is (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. The phone lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Disaster Recovery Centers have been established for those who have already registered and who need to ask questions about, or to add information to their application.

Representatives from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are in the centers to provide assistance with filling out SBA loan application packets. Crisis counselors are also in the centers.

Center locations are:

Port Lavaca DRC Bay City DRC Victoria DRC
Memorial Medical Center
1300 N. Virginia at Hwy 35
Port Lavaca, Texas
Suite 104
201 7th Street (Hwy 35)
Bay City, Texas
Suite 103
Dept. of Waste Water
Administration Building
1703 Airline Road
Victoria, Texas

These Disaster Recovery Centers are open Monday Through Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Sunday from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice.

Additionally, mobile centers will be in the following locations:

Bee County Goliad County
Bee County Courthouse Room 203
105 West Corpus Christi
Beeville, Texas 78102
Monday July 28
Tuesday July 29
9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
The Depot 211 E. Franklin Street
Goliad, Texas 77963
Wednesday July 30
Thursday July 31
9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Refugio County (Two locations)
Tivoli-Austwell High School Cafeteria
207 Red Fish Street
Tivoli, Texas 77990
Friday August 1
Saturday August 2
9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Refugio Community Center
200 Swift Street
Refugio, Texas 78377
Monday August 4
Tuesday August 5
9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: