Additional FEMA/SEMA Disaster Recovery Centers To Open

Main Content
Release date: 
July 28, 2003
Release Number: 

Kokomo, IN - The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Indiana State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) are setting up temporary Disaster Recovery Centers in three locations to bring information to individuals who may have questions after they have applied for disaster assistance. To apply for assistance, residents in the disaster-declared counties should call 1 800 621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number for those with hearing or speech impairment is 1 800 462-7585.

These information centers will be operating Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, July 29 through July 31, 9:30 a.m. to 6:30 pm., at the following locations:


Jasper County Fairgrounds
State Hwy 114


National Guard Armory
Strawberry Road


Wyandotte School
3575 East 79th Street

Disaster recovery specialists will be on hand to answer questions and Small Business Administration (SBA) loan representatives will be available at the center to assist victims with low-interest loan applications. Personnel at the centers can also provide disaster housing information, technical assistance on how to reduce future disaster damages, and referrals to local voluntary agencies and other assistance programs.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA's continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top