Main Content

Deadline Nears To Apply For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 22, 2003
Release Number: 

Richmond, KY - Victims of the May 4-27 Kentucky storms who have not yet registered for federal disaster assistance have until Aug. 4, 2003, to file applications for most disaster assistance programs, according to federal and state disaster recovery officials.

"Even if you're not sure whether you qualify, apply before the deadline," said Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Butler. "Hold the door open for possible assistance."

Homeowners, renters and business owners who sustained damage from severe storms and flooding from May 4-27 are encouraged to apply by calling the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), to register. Those with hearing or speech impairments can register by calling TTY (800) 462-7585.

Residents in the following counties are eligible for disaster assistance in recovering from the May 4-27 storms: Anderson, Boyd, Breckinridge, Boyle, Bullitt, Caldwell, Carter, Crittenden, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Garrard, Graves, Grayson, Greenup, Hardin, Hart, Henderson, Hopkins, Jefferson, Jessamine, Larue, Lewis, Lawrence, Madison, Mason, McLean, Meade, Mercer, Nelson, Owsley, Perry, Rowan, Union, Washington, Webster and Woodford.

Applicants may qualiy for assistance under several federal and state programs such as disaster housing assistance, grants to meet disaster-related needs, or U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loans.

"Even after the deadline, if you have questions about your application, FEMA will still be a telephone call away," Butler said.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: