Main Content

Additional Indiana Counties Designated For Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
July 17, 2003
Release Number: 

Indianapolis, IN -- Disaster assistance has been made available in six additional Indiana counties to help residents recover from the effects of the severe storms, tornadoes, and floods that began on July 4, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

Affected residents and business owners in Clay, Fulton, Morgan, Newton, Parke and Vigo counties may apply for assistance immediately by calling the toll-free application number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. until further notice. Those who are speech or hearing impaired may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

The new counties join 34 declared eligible for individual assistance on July 11 by President Bush. The number was expanded based on continuing damage assessments by federal and state disaster officials.

"We recognized the need of including folks from these counties who have suffered damages, even after the Governor requested, and received, a disaster declaration from the President," Patrick R. Ralston, state coordinating officer, Indiana State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA), said.

According to Thomas J. Costello, FEMA's federal coordinating officer, calling FEMA's toll-free teleregistration number is the only way to apply for a wide range of disaster assistance programs that can include funding for temporary disaster housing assistance, U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property; replacement grants to help meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs; and disaster unemployment assistance.

Callers are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

  • Your current phone number;
  • Your Social Security number, if available;
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered;
  • If insured, your insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name;
  • General financial information; and
  • Bank account code if you wish to speed up your assistance with direct deposit.


When disaster strikes, the Federal Emergency Management Agency administers a number of disaster assistance programs and coordinates the efforts of many other federal agencies that provide services to help people through the recovery process. The types of assistance that are available include:

Federal Emergency Management Agency Programs

INDIVIDUALS and HOUSEHOLDS PROGRAM: Housing assistance to individuals and families whose permanent homes were damaged or destroyed by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding. Types of aid include grants for temporary rental housing; essential repairs needed to make a residence safe, secure and sanitary; and, to meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other programs, such as medical, dental, funeral, personal property, transportation and other FEMA-approved expenses.

DISASTER UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE: Weekly benefits to those individuals out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm owners and others not usually covered under regular unemployment insurance.

U.S. Small Business Administration Programs

HOME/PERSONAL PROPERTY DISASTER LOANS: Disaster loans to homeowners and renters for restoring or replacing underinsured or uninsured disaster-damaged real and personal property. (Available in declared counties.)

BUSINESS DISASTER LOANS: Disaster loans to repair or replace destroyed or damaged business facilities, inventory, machinery, equipment, etc. not covered by insurance. (Avail...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: