Nine More Indiana Counties Designated For Federal Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
July 11, 2003
Release Number: 

Washington, DC -- The head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today designated nine more Indiana counties eligible for federal disaster aid to help homeowners, renters and business owners recover from the July 4 storms and floods.

Michael D. Brown, FEMA Director and Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response at the Department of Homeland Security, said the assistance was approved based on the results of further federal and state damage assessments that were completed today. Twenty-five counties were initially designated for aid to affected residents and business owners under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush this morning.

The additional eligible counties are Delaware, Grant, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry, Madison, Marion, Randolph and Wayne.

The assistance can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and businesses losses not fully compensated by insurance.

Affected residents and business owners in the nine designated counties can apply for assistance beginning Saturday, July 12, by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call a special TTY number at 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top