Main Content

FEMA Application Number Closes Today For Missouri Disaster

Release date: 
July 7, 2003
Release Number: 

Springfield, MO -- Today (July 7) is the last day for Missourians in 74 designated counties affected the tornadoes, severe storms and flooding, which occurred May 4-30, to apply for state and federal disaster assistance.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) application number, 800-621-FEMA (3362) will take calls until 6 p.m. (CDT) today. The special number for those who are hearing or speech impaired is TTY 800-462-7585. Multilingual assistance is available when needed.

"If you have damages from disasters, and have yet to apply for state and federal disaster assistance, we encourage you to call today," said Jerry Uhlmann, state coordinating officer. "We don't want anyone eligible to miss out on assistance."

More than 6,500 Missourians have applied for assistance. More than $31 million in grants and low-interest loans have been already approved for more than 4,000 Missourians affected by the disaster. Claims will continue to be processed after today, but no new applications will be accepted by phone after the 6 p.m. deadline.

"Routinely, the application period after a presidentially declared disaster is 60 days," said Mike Karl, federal coordinating officer for the Missouri recovery effort. "That time-frame ends today and we want anyone who needs assistance to be sure to apply."

Assistance includes grants for temporary disaster housing assistance; funds to repair disaster-damaged homes to a safe and sanitary living or functional condition; replacement grants for serious, disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs. Other assistance may be through U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property free legal services, and crisis counseling.

Following are the designated counties for individuals and business owners applying for Individual Assistance: Audrain, Barry, Barton, Bates, Benton, Bollinger, Boone, Buchanan, Callaway, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Henry, Hickory, Howard, Iron, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Marion, McDonald, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Osage, Perry, Pettis, Phelps, Pike, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Saline, Scott, Shelby, Stoddard, St. Clair, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, Vernon, Washington and Webster.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: