Kentucky Disaster Tops $2.5 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
June 27, 2003
Release Number: 

Richmond, KY -- State, federal, local and voluntary agencies continue to help Kentucky residents affected by the May 4-27 severe storms and flooding. Recovery assistance is available to 37 counties as part of a Presidential disaster declaration.

To date, residents and businesses in 37 Kentucky counties are eligible for disaster assistance. Residents of these counties who suffered damage from the May 4-27 storms are urged to call the FEMA registration toll-free number at (800) 621-3362, or, for the speech and hearing impaired (TTY), 1-800-462-7585.

Kentucky counties under the federal disaster declaration for individuals are: Anderson, Boyd, Breckinridge, Boyle, Bullitt, Caldwell, Carter, Crittenden, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Garrard, Graves, Grayson, Greenup, Hardin, Hart, Henderson, Hopkins, Jefferson, Jessamine, Larue, Lewis, Lawrence, Madison, Mason, McLean, Meade, Mercer, Nelson, Owsley, Perry, Rowan, Union, Washington, Webster and Woodford.

Recovery services summary at close of business Thursday, June 26

  • A total of $2,532,759 in grants and loans has been approved.
  • Grants for disaster housing assistance total $1,474,334.
  • $697,025 in grants for other needs not covered by insurance or other grants have been approved.
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved low-interest loans totaling $361,400.
  • 1,571 individuals have called the toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) to register for assistance.
  • 753 home inspections have been completed.

For information on any of these programs please call the FEMA toll-free number.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top