Main Content

FEMA: $6 Million In Disaster Aid Flows To Ice Storm Victims

Main Content
Release date: 
June 25, 2003
Release Number: 

Syracuse, NY -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that nearly $6 million has been approved for victims of the April 3-5 ice storm in central and western New York.

"The April ice storm was a traumatic event for hundreds of thousands of New Yorkers, but the financial assistance needed for individuals and communities to recover is flowing," said Marianne C. Jackson, federal coordinating officer for FEMA's disaster recovery operation.

"Without these programs, the very same people who weathered the ice storm would be left alone to weather the financial aftermath as well," Jackson said.

Disaster programs available to eligible homeowners, renters and businesses in Cayuga, Monroe, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Oswego, Seneca and Wayne counties include: home repair; temporary housing; disaster-related needs for personal property losses; reimbursement for medical, dental and transportation expenses; and low-interest disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration.

Non-profit organizations and government entities in all 15 counties - Cayuga, Chenango, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Seneca, Schenectady, Wayne and Yates - may be eligible to recover costs for measures taken to save lives, ensure public health and safety, protect property, remove debris and repair infrastructure under FEMA's Public Assistance (PA) program.

Edward F. Jacoby, Jr., State Coordinating Officer and Director of the State Emergency Management Office (SEMO), said the disaster assistance programs are a tremendous help to communities struggling to deal with damage from the storm.

"We are doing everything we can to make sure the disaster aid gets to storm victims as quickly as possible," Jacoby said.

As of June 25, 2003, FEMA has approved a total of $5.98 million for ice storm victims in the 15 counties President Bush declared as part of the disaster, at the request of Governor George E. Pataki.

Included in that amount is:

  • $3.76 million through the FEMA/State Individual Assistance (IA) program, which includes assistance to homeowners to repair damage caused by the disaster and temporary housing for persons forced to move from a damaged dwelling;

  • $1.8 million through the Individual and Households Program / Other Needs Assistance (IHP/ONA,) which includes assistance for personal property losses, disaster-related medical, dental, and funeral expenses, and/or damage to private vehicles;

  • $214,900 in low-interest disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration;

  • $211,828 to four local municipalities, under FEMA Public Assistance Program (PA): the Town of Penfield, Monroe County, $172,772; the Town of Geneva, Ontario County, $18,329; the Village of Honeoye Falls, Monroe County, $18,209; and the Village of Rushville, Yates County, $2,517.

Jackson said that close coordination among federal, state and local emergency officials has resulted in more than 16,000 individuals, businesses, non-profit organizations and local governments applying for disaster aid.

Jackson urged anyone who suffered damage as a result of the storm to register for assistance by calling the FEMA Teleregistration/Helpline, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The Helpline is staffed seven days a week from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. The deadline to register is July 11, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: